I'm retired from racing. Really. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 22 May 2019 04:47:09 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, May 21, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2019.html <p>Laid 28 bags of mulch on Saturday, and then about 55 bags Monday. Pretty sore and tired from that- it&#39;s about 38 pounds per bag. That&#39;s 1.5 tons of wood. Oofdah. 30 min xt and some stretching. Weights again tomorrow.</p> Tue, 21 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 20, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2019.html <p>AM 2 plus S&amp;S</p> Mon, 20 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 17, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2019.html <p>Nothing yesterday except some walking. 30 min elliptical today followed by almost an hour of strengthening/stretching.</p> Fri, 17 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 15, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2019.html <p>XT and lots of strengthening/stretching</p> Wed, 15 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 14, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-14-2019.html <p>No running today- being cautious. Some xt, stretching, strengthening. This might be my modus operandi for a while.</p> Tue, 14 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 13, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-13-2019.html <p>AM 30 min elliptical, then tried a mile running, which was slow and painful (not sure if pain is just from lack of use or injury- we&#39;ll see how I feel tomorrow)</p> Mon, 13 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 10, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2019.html <p>40 min xt, interrupted for 30 min to talk to a coworker. Then stretch/strengthen.</p> Fri, 10 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 09, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2019.html <p>XT and stretch</p> Thu, 09 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 08, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2019.html <p>AM some elliptical. Tried biking, but it hurt so stopped.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 08 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 07, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-07-2019.html <p>XT and stretch</p> Tue, 07 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 06, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-06-2019.html <p>A little bit of crosstraining</p> Mon, 06 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 30, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-30-2019.html <p>Tried stationary bike. Hurt. Tried elliptical. Hurt. Threw in the towel for who-knows-how-long.</p> Tue, 30 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 29, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-29-2019.html <p>My right quad/groin was still a little tight but feeling better so I decided to play ultimate. However, it twinged on every step and, after about 10 minutes, started getting more and more painful. After 20 minutes, I quit, limping badly. Really tweaked my groin. This stinks. I&#39;ll limping all over now. I&#39;ve never had much of a muscle or groin issue, but this feels pretty serious. It will stink if I&#39;m out of commision for a while. As my wife said, 40 has not been kind to me.</p> <p>In some happy news, my 6 and 7 year olds are on a baseball team. The 7 year old hits the ball almost every at bat. My 6 year old had never gotten a single hit in the first 6 games, and only hit a foul tip in the most recent one. She is so happy and bubbly even though she wasn&#39;t hitting it, though. But she&#39;s been practicing, and today she got her first hit! She was so happy, and her team was doing well so hit her all the way home. Then she got her second, and then third hit. She scored on all 3 at bats today, and was literally jumping up and down. So cute. After, she was singing a song about how she can&#39;t believe she actually hit the ball. Gotta love kids</p> Mon, 29 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 26, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2019.html <p>No workout of any kind. The lack-of-motivation continues at work. A coworker and I decided to go see Avengers midday. Good movie. Then watch daughter&#39;s soccer game right after work. 2 more soccer games tomorrow, then wife and oldest gone the rest of the day with church stuff.</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 25, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2019.html <p>lunch- due to expected rain tomorrow, 6 of us showed up to play today. I&#39;m less sore than yesterday but still far from 100%. 3v3 is LOTS of running. We started the game to 5 early as we were getting tired. My team won 5-3. I played pretty well, although had a couple very hard (but catchable) catches I missed. Then we did hot box just for fun- we didn&#39;t keep score but my team definitely scored more.</p> Thu, 25 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 24, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2019.html <p>Very sore and tired today. Did 20 min very low on elliptical. Back hurt all day today- I think last year when it acted up was during layoffs, too.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 24 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 23, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2019.html <p>only slept 2 hours last night. Figured working out this morning was as good of use of time as anything, but very sore from frisbee yesterday. 30 min elliptical, stretching.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 22, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2019.html <p>Lunch- beautiful weather, not beautiful frisbee. 7v7, other team had a sub. My team got stomped- turned it over a lot. Lost 5-1. 12 people for second game, we still played poorly but won 3-2. My back/quad/ham are super sore again afterwards. More layoffs again at work today, too, including the guy in my building who I&#39;m closest to and talk to a lot. He&#39;s going through a nasty divorce and now he&#39;s been laid off. Brutal.</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2019 06:00:00