I'm retired from racing. Really. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 20 Jul 2017 20:28:36 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Jul 20, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2017.html <p>AM 2 miles. Wanted more but felt absolutely exhausted and could barely make it this far. One of those days.</p> Thu, 20 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 19, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2017.html <p>AM- 7. Pretty good run, esp considering I just ran last night. First mile was 7:45, last was sub-7:30.</p> <p>Lunch- 7v7 frisbee. My team won 5-2.</p> Wed, 19 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 18, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2017.html <p>PM 10 miles (full loop plus a hair around Lake Placid) at Paris Mtn. There were 5 of us, the most in years, including Barry&#39;s first run in a long time. Seth and Barry split off early, Aaron stopped at 7.5, and Merle and I did the full loop. Hot today, but not near as hot as last week.</p> Tue, 18 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 17, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2017.html <p>AM- 8. Started off feeling pretty good and was doing sub 7:30 for a fair amount towards the end. Stayed off GE trails due to lots of rain last night (about 2 inches in under an hour, with LOTS of lightning)</p> <p>Lunch- not as hot as Friday, but still plenty hot. 6v6 frisbee. My team won 5-1. Tired now.</p> Mon, 17 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 14, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2017.html <p>AM 6</p> <p>Lunch- mid-90s temp, hottest of the year, made for some painful frisbee. My team lost 5-3. Still fun.</p> Fri, 14 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 13, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2017.html <p>PM 7.5 at PM with Seth and Aaron on the hottest day of the year (~95 deg, feels like above 100). I felt pretty bad on the first climb but good by the end, but figured stopping when the rest did was smart to not overexhert, and have energy for frisbee tomorrow.</p> Thu, 13 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 12, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2017.html <p>AM- 8.5 around Icar. Saw 2 deer and a few runners, one of whom should have found a bathroom sooner.</p> Wed, 12 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 11, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-11-2017.html <p>AM- Slow run, 8:30 or so pace for an hour. Ran mainly behind GE. Saw 2 turkey and 9 deer, including a little fawn, and no people back there.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 10, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-10-2017.html <p>AM 7. Felt pretty good, moving ~7:30 for much of it</p> <p>Lunch- ultimate. Hot and humid but overcast. 7v7. My team won 5-2.</p> Mon, 10 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 08, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2017.html <p>AM 7. I sometimes feel much better Saturday mornings, such as today. First mile was 8:08, last mile was 7:22. Felt good.</p> Sat, 08 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 07, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-07-2017.html <p>AM 6</p> <p>Lunch frisbee, my team won 5-3</p> Fri, 07 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 06, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-06-2017.html <p>AM 10 around ICAR. Saw two ladies picking blackberries so joined in for a mid-run snack. Late season (May/June is better) but still good. Warm and very humid, but my longest run in months. 79 min, so I&#39;m estimating 10 miles.</p> Thu, 06 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 05, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-05-2017.html <p>AM 6.5</p> <p>Lunch- warmest day of the year, 90 and very humid. 5v5 game of ultimate, my team won 5-3.</p> Wed, 05 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 04, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-04-2017.html <p>AM 6. Happy Independence Day, everyone</p> Tue, 04 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 03, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-03-2017.html <p>AM 8 miles before taking kid number 2 to doctor (got pushed off 8 foot high retaining wall and can&#39;t put weight on her foot, but is ok). Run felt super slow at the start- seemed like 10 min pace, was actually 8:45. 8:00 pace by the end. 8 miles.</p> Mon, 03 Jul 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 30, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-30-2017.html <p>AM 8. 8-8:30 pace</p> <p>Lunch- it rained most of last night and this morning but stopped about 10 minutes before frisbee time. We had nice game of 5v5. I didn&#39;t play too well but my team won 5-4 in the end.</p> Fri, 30 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 29, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-29-2017.html <p>AM- planned on an hour but felt tired before I even started. Almost stopped at 4 but pushed on for a few more miles. 6 slow (8:30-9 pace)</p> Thu, 29 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 28, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-28-2017.html <p>AM 5</p> <p>Lunch frisbee 4v4. Lost 5-3.</p> Wed, 28 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 27, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-27-2017.html <p>AM 8. Turkeys are my friends. Actually quite cool out- below 70 deg. The heat of summer (90+ high, 75 lows) isn&#39;t here yet.</p> Tue, 27 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 26, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-26-2017.html <p>AM- 6. Felt a bit slow but actually moving pretty well</p> <p>Lunch- frisbee 7v7. Won 5-0. Then 6v6, won 3-1.</p> Mon, 26 Jun 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 23, 2017 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2017.html <p>In Outer Banks NC for the week. Only got in 1 run, but I felt good during it. I guess this is a recovery week from little training working towards no goals... :)</p> Fri, 23 Jun 2017 06:00:00