I'm retired from racing. Really. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/ Tue, 16 Jul 2019 08:11:52 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Jul 08, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2019.html <p>Ran at GE for the first time in months. 3 miles on track. Doozy of a day- humid, sunny, heat index over 100F. After work, played 18 holes disc golf with friends- the motion showed my groin is still not healed.</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 06, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-06-2019.html <p>2 miles with Aspen as Zach biked along. First miles not on the treadmill since April.</p> Sat, 06 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 03, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-03-2019.html <p>elliptical and then weights, heavy weight low rep</p> Wed, 03 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 02, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-02-2019.html <p>Went to the gym to watch the world cup, but the dish was on the fritz again so maybe saw 5 minutes of the game, 5 minutes of jumpy video, and 40 minutes of black screen. Annoying. Did run 2 miles, at least.</p> Tue, 02 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 01, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-01-2019.html <p>Elliptical, a bit of a run, then a lifting for upper and lower body, 3 sets and high weights- most I&#39;ve done.</p> Mon, 01 Jul 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 21, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2019.html <p>Went to the gym and saw a yoga class was doing, so decided to do that. Then some elliptical, then weights. Now going home to watch USA vs France</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 20, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2019.html <p>Gym at 3 pm to try to watch world cup soccer. Satellite was on the fritz so I only saw about 5 min of the first half, then the first 15 min of second half before going back to work. Elliptical plus run 1 mile. No lifting, as I felt sore/tired and didn&#39;t want to push it. I&#39;ll do it tomorrow.</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 19, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2019.html <p>AM- elliptical, then ran 2 whole miles- longest run in 2 months. Woohoo. Then tried lifting- on the hip abductor maching, I could barely push due to pain/weakness/soreness after that run.</p> <p>Work is now comical. The last remaining regular person on my cube row quit so I&#39;ll be alone most days (one guy comes in about 8 hours per week). And another person on my team quit (YTD 2 laid off, 2 voluntary leave). 4 of us left, doing more work than when we had 12. And, good news, I finally got the LONG promised promotion to Senior Engineer today- yeah! But the promotion money increase is pathetically small, low single digits. Like I said, comical/ridiculous now. Things just pile on. I&#39;m still at work today, it&#39;s 6 pm, I&#39;ve been here since 7 am. I really need to stop working so much. I just find it hard to walk away from work or give a B- effort instead of A+ effort on everything.</p> <p>Jeff, no need to comment about your condolences. I appreciate the thoughts. At this point, I&#39;m just laughing to myself and shaking my head. It&#39;s funny.</p> Wed, 19 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 18, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2019.html <p>XT, run 1 mile (longest in a long time, actually felt ok- plan to do more), then weight lifting</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 17, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-17-2019.html <p>Running while watching World Cup, then some lifting. I think I ran half a mile, too</p> Mon, 17 Jun 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 14, 2019 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2019.html <p>I had hoped 1.5 weeks without working out would help my leg heal but it didn&#39;t seem to do much. Lifted twice this week, elliptical every weekday (10-30 min), then ran 1/2 mile on 2 days.</p> Fri, 14 Jun 2019 06:00:00