I'm retired from racing. Really. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 13 Jul 2020 08:05:53 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Jul 11, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-11-2020.html <p>AM 6 miles, nice and slow 9:15 avg pace. Then weights.</p> Sat, 11 Jul 2020 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 10, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-10-2020.html <p>Lunch frisbee- hot (90&#39;s, sunny, feels like 100). 9 people, my team played with 4. We did really good at the start, but then had some errors and fatigue in the game so lost 2-5. Still fun. Didn&#39;t actually feel as hot as yesterday&#39;s run.</p> Fri, 10 Jul 2020 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 09, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-09-2020.html <p>2 pm run- hottest time of the day, sunny and humid. I started off feeling a lot better than yesterday running about 8:20 pace. After 30 min I started feeling terrible, with tingly hands and dead legs. Walked about 1/3 mile, then trudged home over 9 min pace. Got it done, though.</p> <p>Running in the south, I&#39;m used to seeing lots of garbage alongside the roads. Beer cans, usually. The past few months, however, I see almost as many discarded face masks. Sad.</p> Thu, 09 Jul 2020 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 08, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2020.html <p>AM 6. Sluggish and slow, 9+ pace. Had 4 deer run right in front of me.</p> Wed, 08 Jul 2020 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 04, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-04-2020.html <p>AM- no running the past 3 days, but lots of walking at Dollywood. Ran 4 miles this morning with the wife- hot and humid (upper 80&#39;s when we ran)</p> <p>Happy Independence Day, everyone. But can we really call it such this year- seems to be a bit of a farce.</p> Sat, 04 Jul 2020 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 30, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-30-2020.html <p>Lunch- 3 miles at the gym and lifting. Didn&#39;t have time for more, busy day</p> Tue, 30 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 29, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-29-2020.html <p>PM- didn&#39;t go running till about 4 pm. Hot (in the 90&#39;s, heat index near 100) and first run in 5 days so sluggish. 8:45-9 pace</p> Mon, 29 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 24, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2020.html <p>AM- 8 miles. 8:10-7:50 pace. Felt good. Nice to run when it was a cool 65 deg.</p> Wed, 24 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 23, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2020.html <p>Met Barry at 3 pm at GE, ran the trail. Rainy day, so wet but only 75 deg. Humid, obviously. Went to the gym and weight lifted later. Good to run with Barry, first time in a few weeks. The world always provides more than enough to talk about.</p> Tue, 23 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 22, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2020.html <p>PM- Ran at the hottest time of day, 2 pm, when it was about 90 deg and very humid. Blah. Ran 5.5 miles, 8:45-ish.</p> Mon, 22 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 20, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2020.html <p>Lunch- planned on a short run at the gym but the movie The Martian was on which is one of my favorites, so I had to watch it to the end. Ended up 7 miles, then weights.</p> Sat, 20 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 19, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2020.html <p>Lunch- only 8 adults and 1 kid on a hot, sunny, not windy day of frisbee. My team struggled at first but dominated the game, 5-2.</p> Fri, 19 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 18, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2020.html <p>Lots and lots of walking at Dollywood Monday and Tuesday.</p> <p>First run of the week today. Legs felt like they were filled with lead. 4 easy miles with my wife.</p> Thu, 18 Jun 2020 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 12, 2020 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-12-2020.html <p>Frisbee, my team won 5-3. We were even down a person. Lots of running.</p> Fri, 12 Jun 2020 06:00:00