I'm retired from racing. Really. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 24 May 2018 11:21:18 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, May 23, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2018.html <p>Lunch, warm, humid frisbee. 9 people, so we did 4v4 with sub on the other team. We probably had the better team but the game was fairly even during the warm up, though I think the other team got worn down a bit more. Once the game started, my team whupped up and won 5-0. We usually only have 2-4 shutouts a year, but now we had 2 in one week.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 22, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2018.html <p>AM- I probably overdid it today. Wanted to run 7-8 miles. Couldn&#39;t keep track of time so did 8.5. All on GE trail. Saw 1 turkey, 9 deer (4 bucks with tiny antlers and 1 tiny fawn). But like I said, I overdid it and now my left ankle has hurt all day.</p> Tue, 22 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 21, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2018.html <p>Lunch- yoga and frisbee. After a rainy, cloudy, cool week, it unexpectedly cleared up with sunny, mid-80&#39;s, and very humid. 5v5, which is my favorite number. Warm up was pretty even, but then my team won 5-0 for the game. That almost never happens- the other team had some unopportune turnovers, and kept getting mixed up on defense, often leaving me or others alone for long passes. We capitalized. Shut outs are rare, and (frankly) not too enjoyable. But more enjoyable to be on the winning side than the losing.</p> Mon, 21 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 19, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-19-2018.html <p>Am 4 miles around home, 8:15-8:30 pace or so.</p> Sat, 19 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 18, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2018.html <p>Lunch- 5v5 and my team had a sub. We had 3 fast guys vs 2 for the other team, though 60% of the time only 2 were on the field. We did a lot better during the warmup... so, per tradition, we lost the game to 5. Score 5-4. Good, even battle. It rained hard for about 5 minutes near the start, soaking us all and leading to slippery disc and quite a few drops.</p> Fri, 18 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 17, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2018.html <p>AM- Poor sleep again last night. I think I have less than 11 total hours over the past 3 nights.</p> <p>I decided to run the GE trail even knowing it might be a bit muddy- wasn&#39;t too bad in the end. Saw a coyote right away, and 2 turkey at the far end. A few loops. I think 8:15-8:30 pace or so. Just under an hour, 7 miles. Longest run in over 2 months.</p> Thu, 17 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 16, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2018.html <p>Lunch- lots of off and on rain but nothing during lunch so we had a nice 5v5 game. Good battle, my team lost 5-4.</p> Wed, 16 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 15, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2018.html <p>AM- 4 very slow miles on GE trail. Very slow. 37 minutes. I slept terribly last night, not falling asleep till around 5 am.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 14, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-14-2018.html <p>lunch yoga and frisbee. 4v4 with a sub on the other team. My team had the fastest 2 people, but also the newest guy who didn&#39;t know what he was doing and no one to throw it long. But in the end, we won 5-3.</p> Mon, 14 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 12, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-12-2018.html <p>AM slow 3 mile run (9 to 8:30 pace, though felt slower). It may not be much, but it&#39;s my first Saturday run since February, and my longest of the year. How things have changed from 3 years ago.</p> Sat, 12 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 11, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2018.html <p>chiro, yoga, then frisbee. Hot- upper 80&#39;s. The other team was stacked- 3 of the fastest 4 runners, plus 2 good throwers. They didn&#39;t do a great job on capitalizing on their mismatchs, and insisted on playing zone defense even though they were faster and we had a few good throwers to break them. One of the better played games in a while, a real battle. My team went up 2-0, then down 3-2, then we scored 3 straight for the win. Very tired after, between the heat and extra running as I was the main downfield guy for my team but also had to split covering their 2 fastest guys. I&#39;m pretty proud of this win.</p> Fri, 11 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 10, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2018.html <p>AM 6 slow miles on GE trail. 8:30-ish pace. 2 turkeys (one a Tom blocking the trail right at the start), 4 or 5 deer.</p> <p>Summer is coming. Highs in the mid-90&#39;s starting tomorrow</p> Thu, 10 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 09, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2018.html <p>Lunch- 5v5, which is my favorite number (either that or 6v6). My team struggled for a while figuring out what to do on defense but eventually got it ironed out. We won the game 5-1.</p> Wed, 09 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 08, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2018.html <p>AM- 5 miles around ICAR. Pretty slow. I went primarily to see if the wild blackberry bushes have fruit yet. Looks like they are at least 2-4 weeks away. I&#39;ll keep an eye on it and we&#39;ll make a family night out of picking them.</p> Tue, 08 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 07, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-07-2018.html <p>Lunch 4v4 frisbee. Each member of the other team was taller/bigger than the person covering from my team, so they took a tactic of a bunch of short passes waiting for a bomb to the end zone. Add in a lot of bad passes by my team, and their tactic worked. We lost 5-3.</p> Mon, 07 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 04, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-04-2018.html <p>Lunch- hot day (80&#39;s) and windy. yoga then frisbee. 9 people, so we did 1 guy switching teams after the team with 5 scored. My team got whupped- the other team scored the first 2 points even though they were down a person. We finally calmed down and scored a few, but still lost 5-3. Drubbing. Scott and I were not throwing well at all.</p> <p>Strange how quickly we&#39;ve gone from 14+ people every frisbee game, and often 20+, to barely hitting 10 most days. I don&#39;t think any of the people were laid off, but people are under more stress and have increasing workloads. For example, another guy in my team is leaving. 2 years ago we had 11 application engineers. Now, we will have 4. I&#39;m the senior most non-management AE on my team.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 04 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 03, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2018.html <p>AM- Barry and I ran 4 miles on the GE trail. 3 turkeys. Good to be running with him again, and to be running again at all.</p> Thu, 03 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 02, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2018.html <p>Lunch- 80 deg day, warmest of the year (though not for long). 4v4 frisbee (crazy to think we routintely had 16-24 people not long ago). My team had 2 speed guys vs their 1, so should have won. We did, 5-3. To be fair, we also had the 2 slowest people and the worst thrower.</p> Wed, 02 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 01, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2018.html <p>AM run on the GE trail. I hope I&#39;m finally able to get back to normal. 4 miles, 1 loop. 6 or 9 deer, 1 turkey.</p> Tue, 01 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 30, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-30-2018.html <p>Frisbee. My team had sub, 5v5. We lost 5-3 and we&#39;re lucky to do that week. Definitely the slower team. We were down 4-1. Missed some chances too</p> Mon, 30 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 27, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2018.html <p>lunch- frisbee on a perfect day. My team was a bit undermanned, but still had our chances. Came up short in the end, lost 5-3. Spent the afternoon with a college roommate that I hadn&#39;t seen in 10 years.</p> Fri, 27 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 26, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2018.html <p>Lunch- a regular run on the GE trail. Slow, but great to run again, even if I was a bit sore. 3 miles. Plan to very slowly build up to 3-4 runs per week.</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 25, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2018.html <p>Lunch- beautiful day for frisbee- 70 deg and minimal wind. We played on the muddy, wet 2nd field to protect the germinating grass on the 1st field. I had some bad throws and a few drops. My team won 5-3.</p> Wed, 25 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 24, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2018.html <p>AM unexpectedly woke up early so did spin class then stretch. Chiro in the afternoon.</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 23, 2018 http://Jon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2018.html <p>AM- rainy day so no frisbee. I ran 2 miles on the treadmill with my back not acting up. Biked, too.</p> <p>Lunch- yoga</p> <p>PM- spent all evening running around fixing my wife&#39;s&nbsp;dead car battery that left them stranded at volleyball. Battery was still in warranty so I got it for free (sweet!) but the terminal was the wrong size to I made a late trip to home depot to buy something to jimmy rig it. Did it all in the rain, and auto parts store was 30 min away. Took 3.5 hours but got it fixed.</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2018 06:00:00